lisa helene donovan bacalski

Home » Editor's Note » Dismantling my vision and Dejerria Becton

Dismantling my vision and Dejerria Becton

This long, uncomfortable history must be faced, for the sake of our children.

Abby Norman

The greatest gift teaching has given me is that I see all kids as my kids. I’ve taught a wide variety of students and I claim all of them as mine. I have a pretty open door policy in my classroom. If you have ever been on my attendance list then you can come calling. If you need something come see me, but I reserve the right to holler at you in the hallway when you are acting a fool. You are mine. You are my kid until you graduate and often beyond.

When I saw the video of DaJerria Becton wearing a swimsuit with a grown man brutalizing her in the name of justice, what I saw was my student, what I saw was my kid. I teach freshmen. 14 year olds going on 15. I watch the way the girls twist in their seats and try out new…

View original post 547 more words

Leave a Reply

