lisa helene donovan bacalski

Home » Editor's Note » Leading with Vulnerability (and Getting Hit over the Head with an Umbrella)

Leading with Vulnerability (and Getting Hit over the Head with an Umbrella)

Let’s be brave and set up that field hospital in the trenches that Pope Francis is calling for… like this young woman taking care of people without homes, facing her fears and overcoming anger and disappointment.

Millennial

So there I was, getting beaten over the head with an umbrella by a client in the middle of the parking lot (I’m a social worker, working with men and women experiencing homelessness).  As the umbrella came down, my mind raced, thinking of the possible ways I could best handle this situation (clinically speaking of course). There were just too many therapeutic approaches to consider. So what did I do?

I ran.

I ran behind a car and suddenly found myself in a game of cat and mouse. “Way to go, Maureen,” I thought to myself, and I began to laugh. Way to handle this professionally. Meanwhile, the man with the umbrella was coming at me.

As you can guess by the fact that I am writing this now, I managed to escape (though not gracefully) with just a few minor bruises and some lessons learned:

1. The agency where…

View original post 758 more words

Leave a Reply

